In Carson City, Nevada, state legislators are considering a bill that will allow finance companies to use a disabling device called the “Starter Interrupt Device,” which will allow companies to electronically disable a car when a buyer gets behind on car loan payments.
Consumer advocates are fighting the bill because the language says that the remote tool can be used when a buyer is only three days late on a payment, even though Nevada state law says that a buyer isn’t delinquent on their payment until after 30 days.
Consumer advocates are concerned that changes to the 30-day grace period will fundamentally change car sale laws that have been in effect for more than 50 years. A similar bill failed in the last legislative session. To learn more, visit: